Sewing-machine answers from manuals and manufacturer documents. About the evidence
SewIndexThe Sewing Machine Index

Researched and independently reviewed with AI. Not personally reviewed by a human editor.

Machine reference

Baby Lock BLCS-2

7 cited answers1 documentCoverage limits

Needles, bobbins, feet and other details for this model. Check the requirements before choosing parts.

Before choosing a part

Compatibility essentials

Start with these documented details. Read the requirements with each answer before choosing a needle, bobbin or foot.

Needle sizes by fabric and use

See needle system / designation above →

Not yet confirmed here: Manufacturer accessory group, Presser-foot shank type, Foot attachment, Foot holder / mount, Foot interface / generation, Bobbin type / class, Bobbin material, Bobbin diameter, Bobbin height, Hook type, Maximum stitch / zigzag width, Feed system, Bobbin loading direction. What is still to confirm →

Model & names

Model
Baby Lock BLCS-2

Other names, regional versions and related models have not been confirmed here. A shared manual, product line or accessory group does not identify the machine's family.

What do you need help with?

Which needle does the BLCS-2 guide specify, and in which sizes?

Before you use this answer

Organ ELx705CF in 90/14 or 80/12, as the guide states. The guide names no other needle system, so other systems are not confirmed here.

Documents and page references →

How does the BLCS-2 presser foot attach, and which feet fit?

Before you use this answer

Switch the machine to “O” (off) before changing the foot. The guide gives no shank class and does not say which third-party feet fit.

Documents and page references →

Which optional attachments does the guide list, and how do they mount?

Before you use this answer

Codes are printed literally; rows 7–10 are marked “U.S.A. only”. The guide says the accessories come from a Baby Lock retailer; no retailer fit is claimed here.

Documents and page references →
More questions (1)

Manuals, parts books & more

Manuals & manufacturer documents

Available documents & sources

Operating manual
Cover Stitch Instruction and Reference Guide, Model BLCS-2 · EI-30(2)-E; IB BLCS-2 (printed colophon); PDF metadata created 2009-05-25, modified 2009-10-23

Publisher links below distinguish a matched file from a listing.

Choose the document for your task: an instruction manual, service manual, parts list and accessory guide answer different questions.

About this document & page references →

Instruction manual

Cover Stitch Instruction and Reference Guide, Model BLCS-2

Baby Lock44 pagesEnglish
Edition and models

Edition: EI-30(2)-E; IB BLCS-2 (printed colophon); PDF metadata created 2009-05-25, modified 2009-10-23

Models referenced here: Baby Lock BLCS-2

Read the source document ↗
We checked that this file matched the source used here on 2026-11-04. The publisher may later replace its file.

Needle, bobbin & presser-foot details

Read the model-specific requirements with each answer before choosing parts.

Needle

Replacement procedure

  • Switch the machine to the "O" (off) position before changing a needle (safety instruction 14).

Switch the machine off, then: (1) turn the handwheel toward you to raise the needle to its highest position; (2) loosen the screw for the needle being changed with the Allen screwdriver, holding the needle with the needle insert tool so it cannot fall into the needle plate; (3) with the needle insert tool or tweezers, insert the new needle flat side to the back, as far as it will go, and check the needle viewing window; (4) tighten the needle clamp screw. A dropped needle can be recovered from the needle-drop drawer at the bottom of the machine.

Sources and pages

Positions by stitch

  • Pairings follow the guide's per-needle list and its stitch-width table.

There are three needle positions: C-1 left, C-2 center and C-3 right. Wide cover stitch (6.0 mm) uses C-1 and C-3; narrow cover stitch (3.0 mm) uses C-1 and C-2 (left narrow) or C-2 and C-3 (right narrow); triple cover stitch (6.0 mm) uses all three; chain stitch uses any one needle.

Sources and pages

Bobbin

Presser foot

Attachment

  • Switch the machine to the "O" (off) position before changing the presser foot (safety instruction 14).
  • The guide does not state a shank class or which third-party feet fit.

Snap-on presser foot. To release: raise the presser foot lever (this also lowers the feed dogs), raise the needles to their highest position, push the release lever at the back of the presser foot holder and slide the foot to the left of the needles. To refit: raise the lever and the needles, slide the foot from the left to the right, align the bar on the foot with the groove in the holder, lower the presser foot lever to snap it into place, then turn the handwheel counterclockwise to bring the feed dogs up.

Sources and pages

Specifications & documented facts

Specifications apply to the named model and document edition. Read any setup, fabric or safety requirements with the answer.

Accessories

Optional attachments

  • Rows 7 to 10 print "U.S.A. only" in place of a left code; they have only the bracketed code.
  • Use the front two attachment screw holes for the Knit/Woven Double Fold Bias Binders and the back two holes with the Accessory Adapter for the other optional accessories.
  • The guide says these accessories are available from a Baby Lock retailer; no retailer fit is claimed.

The guide lists 21 optional chain/cover stitch accessories, each with a left code and a bracketed right code as printed: 1. Belt Loop Folder (3/4", 19mm): RO-B0421S12A-E (BLE8-S12); 2. Belt Loop Folder (1-1/2", 38mm): RO-B0421S11A-E (BLE8-S11); 3. Single Fold Bias Binder (28mm): RO-B0421S04A-E (BLE8-S4); 4. Single Fold Bias Binder (40mm): RO-B0421S05A-E (BLE8-S5); 5. Double Fold Bias Binder (1-1/8", 28mm): RO-B0421S03A-E (BLE8-S3); 6. Double Fold Bias Binder (1-3/8), 36mm): RO-B0421S02A-E (BLE8-S2); 7. Elastic Gatherer Bracket: U.S.A. only (BLE8-GG); 8. Elastic Guide for Gatherer Bracket (1/4", 7.5mm): U.S.A. only (BLE8-EG7); 9. Elastic Guide for Gatherer Bracket (3/8", 10mm): U.S.A. only (BLE8-EG10); 10. Elastic Guide for Gatherer Bracket (1/2", 13mm): U.S.A. only (BLE8-EG13); 11. Fabric Guide: RO-B0420S01A-E (BLE8-FG); 12. Plain Hemmer (1/4", 7.5mm): RO-B0421S07A-E (BLE8-S7); 13. Plain Hemmer (1/2", 13mm): RO-B0421S06A-E (BLE8-S6); 14. Single Downturn Feller (1/4", 7.5mm): RO-B0421S10A-E (BLE8-S10); 15. Single Downturn Feller (5/8", 16mm): RO-B0421S08A-E (BLE8-S8); 16. Single Downturn Feller (1", 25mm): RO-B0421S09A-E (BLE8-S9); 17. Knit/Woven Double Fold Bias Binder (8mm): RO-D13-4-08E (BLCS-DFBB8); 18. Knit/Woven Double Fold Bias Binder (10mm): RO-D13-4-10E (BLCS-DFBB10); 19. Knit/Woven Double Fold Bias Binder (15mm): RO-D13-4-15E (BLCS-DFBB15); 20. Clear Foot: B5002K03A-E (BLCS-CLF); 21. Pintuck Foot w/2 Guides: RO-B5002-06B-C-E (BLCS-PTF).

Sources and pages

Care

Feed & fabric control

Length and differential

  • Test-stitch on the fabric being sewn; fabric weight affects the result.

Stitch length is set on a dial from 1.0 to 4.0 mm; about 3 mm (roughly 10 stitches per inch) suits most fabrics. Differential feed ranges from 0.6 to 2.0, with N for normal feeding. Above N the front feed dog feeds more fabric than the back, easing it, which can eliminate wavy seams in stretchy or bias-cut fabric; at the 2.0 maximum it can gather lightweight fabric to nearly double fullness. Below N the fabric is stretched slightly, which prevents puckers on lightweight fabric.

Sources and pages

Care, setup & service references

Use the full source procedure and its safety precautions. A short referenced answer is not a substitute for service documentation or qualified electrical/mechanical repair.

Service-manual availability and service-only procedures remain unestablished unless separately cataloged and reviewed.

Coverage and source-review limits

Answers use this model’s instruction and reference guide with its stated safety conditions. The guide names no bobbin, and its maximum-speed and 230 V lamp figures conflict, so those are not answered. No hands-on testing or replacement-part fit is claimed.

Coverage and remaining questions

Operating manual
Listed below; check the edition and available link.
Exact OEM part application
No model-specific part application is listed here.

Still to confirm

An unanswered question does not mean a part is incompatible. We have not confirmed enough information to recommend it.

Bobbin — Bobbin use: The guide describes chain and cover stitches formed by one to three needles and one chain looper, and names no bobbin, bobbin case or hook. Recorded as not stated, not as incompatible. Full recorded limit & conditions →

Other names, regional versions, production history, further specifications and documents are not fully covered here. Their absence is not a “none exist” finding.

Sources and page references

Each answer links to its exact evidence passage below. Open a reference to see the document and page. These links identify the source; they do not include the full manual or its diagrams. Document access is consolidated in the OEM library above.

Document and page references (17)

Cover Stitch Instruction and Reference Guide, Model BLCS-2

Published by Baby Lock · EI-30(2)-E; IB BLCS-2 (printed colophon); PDF metadata created 2009-05-25, modified 2009-10-23 · English

Document and available links →About this document →

PDF page 44 · printed page 42

Open the source document · PDF p. 44 ↗ About this document link

Applicability and edition

Checked against the document text.

Exact BLCS-2 edition colophon (instruction-book code IB BLCS-2, edition EI-30(2)-E), physical 44 / printed 42. Native extraction; the code identifies this guide, and with the visual cover it binds the guide to the exact BLCS-2 only.

PDF page 1 · printed page cover

Open the source document · PDF p. 1 ↗ About this document link

Applicability and edition

Checked as a transcription of the page image.

Exact image-only cover of the BLCS-2 instruction and reference guide, physical 1. Visual transcription of the model line only; no sibling or BLCS-shorthand inference.

PDF page 2 · printed page unnumbered

Open the source document · PDF p. 2 ↗ About this document link

Applicability and edition

Checked against the document text.

Safety instruction 14, physical 2 (unnumbered front matter). The guide's safety page uses the generic words "overlock machine"; only the switch-off instruction is used.

PDF page 9 · printed page 7

Open the source document · PDF p. 9 ↗ About this document link

Applicability and edition

Checked against the document text.

Only the stated document, exact BLCS-2 model and cited passage; no sibling, BLCS-shorthand, standardized-fit or retail-fit inference. Codes are literal; "U.S.A. only" is a printed regional qualifier in the left code column, not a part number.

PDF page 10 · printed page 8

Open the source document · PDF p. 10 ↗ About this document link

Applicability and edition

Checked against the document text.

Only the stated document, exact BLCS-2 model and cited passage; no sibling, BLCS-shorthand, standardized-fit or retail-fit inference. U.S.A. regional statement only; not used by an owner answer in this bundle.

PDF page 12 · printed page 10

Open the source document · PDF p. 12 ↗ About this document link

Applicability and edition

Checked against the document text.

Only the stated document, exact BLCS-2 model and cited passage; no sibling, BLCS-shorthand, standardized-fit or retail-fit inference. No shank class or third-party foot fit.

PDF page 40 · printed page 38

Open the source document · PDF p. 40 ↗ About this document link

Applicability and edition

Checked against the document text.

Only the stated document, exact BLCS-2 model and cited passage; no sibling, BLCS-shorthand, standardized-fit or retail-fit inference. The guide calls the machine a serger in this note; the wording is quoted, not reclassified.

PDF page 42 · printed page 40

Open the source document · PDF p. 42 ↗ About this document link

Applicability and edition

Checked against the document text.

Only the stated document, exact BLCS-2 model and cited passage; no sibling, BLCS-shorthand, standardized-fit or retail-fit inference. The needle-plate removal steps beyond unplugging are not paraphrased.

Editorial responsibility & corrections

Alex Shick · Founder and editor. Corrections managed by Alex Shick.

This Baby Lock BLCS-2 guide is based on documents, with AI assistance to organize the information. We have not tested or repaired the machine.

Check the document edition with each answer. A source review date is not a machine inspection date or a promise that the manual is the latest edition.

Contact the SewIndex team or report a correction ↗

The correction address has been tested and its monitoring confirmed. We cannot promise a response or accept every suggested change.

Report an error with the model, document and page · About SewIndex and our method

About this information

Answers come from the documents named on this page. They describe those editions, and may not cover later changes to the machine or manual.